Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako

Welcome to the Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako

The Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako was incorporated February 1, 2022 under the Municipal Act (now Local Government Act) of British Columbia. It covers an immense area (roughly 77,000 square km), but has a relatively small population (estimated at 40,856 in 2001). For maps or a population table, please go to our maps and census pages.

The Regional District contains 8 incorporated municipalities:

  • Town of Smithers
  • District of Fort St James
  • District of Houston
  • District of Vanderhoof
  • Village of Burns Lake
  • Village of Fraser Lake
  • Village of Granisle
  • Village of Telkwa

Each community has a representative seat on the Regional District Board. The Rural Area is divided into seven Electoral Areas, each electing a Regional District Director.

Contact Us

Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako
492 Yellowhead Highway 16
PO Box 820
Burns Lake, BC V0J 1E0
Tel: (250) 692-3195
Toll Free: 1-800-320-3339
Fax: (250) 692-3305


Website by REDI and Spark Design